Home Entertainment 10 Facts You Didn’t Know About His Dark Materials Book Series

10 Facts You Didn’t Know About His Dark Materials Book Series

The His Dark Materials book series is a trilogy of fantasy novels written by Philip Pullman that centres around two children – Lyra and Will – as they grow into adults while facing witches, spectres, giant polar bears and the ever mysterious Dust.

If you haven’t read the three books it’s perfect for fans of Harry Potter and any of the Game of Thrones books. For those of you who have read the books you might be interested in these 10 facts about the series:

1. The books daemons were inspired by a Leonardo da Vinci painting.

Philip Pullman
via Culture.pl

Within some of the book’s worlds characters have daemons, an animal form of that person’s soul who can speak. Philip Pullman was inspired to create these daemons after seeing Leonardo da Vinci’s painting Lady With an Ermine.

2. Religious critics slammed the series as being propaganda for children.

Philip Pullman
via Houstonpress.com

Philip Pullman’s first novel in the series, Northern Lights (or the Golden Compass for those in America) was described as being atheism for children. Various religious groups boycotted both the books and the film as they felt it was anti-religious.

3. There was a stage adaptation!

philip pullman
via Tumblr.com

It must have been very hard to do, but the entire His Dark Materials series was brought to the stage by director Nicholas Hytner. It had two parts and was 6 hours long and used special effects to show people’s daemons. It was even able to show a two armored bears fighting.  The show was very popular when it ran.

4. The movie wasn’t so well received…

Philip Pullman
via Tumblr.com

You would think a movie that was based on Philip Pullman’s amazing Northern Lights and with an impressive cast that included Daniel Craig would be a hit. It wasn’t… Mainly due to the fact it dampened down the book’s themes to try and keep religious groups happy. Suffice to say there is no plans to adapt the second and third books.

5. The former Archbishop of Canterbury praised the books.

philip pullman
via Telegraph.co.uk

Not all religious leaders were against the Philip Pullman books, the former Archbishop of Canterbury actually endorsed the books. He felt that the books symbolised the destruction of a false god and upheld true Christian values.

6. The books are a retelling of the story Paradise Lost.

philip pullman
via Cems.ox.ac.uk

Philip Pullman based the His Dark Materials Series on a 17th Century poem by Milton called Paradise Lost. The poem follows Adam and Eve and Satan’s fall from Heaven. When he was a teenager Pullman read the poem and adored it. He decided to turn the story on it’s head when he created his trilogy.

7. The first book should never have been called The Golden Compass

philip pullman
via Elysafaithng.wordpress.com

When Philip Pullman first wrote the series of book he named then the Golden Compasses after a line in Milton’s poem. However, when Pullman submitted the book to his American publishers they mistook the name as the Golden Compass which they thought was after the alethiometer in the novel. The publishers wanted to go with this title despite Pullman saying that the book would be named Northern Lights everywhere else.

8. Pullman didn’t shy from the book’s critics.

philip pullman
via I09.com

Whereas some writers would shy away from their critics, Pullman disagreed with his. He gave many speeches explaining what he meant the books to symbolise – dangers of rigid theological doctrine – rather than the books being anti-religion.

9. Philip Pullman doesn’t like his books being likened to other fantasy novels.

philip pullman
via Tumblr.com

People have often likened Philip Pullman’s novels to other fantasy novels such as The Chronicles of Narnia or the Lord of the Rings trilogy. However Pullman is not happy with this. He believes that the Narnia novels were racists and degrading to woman while LOTR doesn’t show how adults communicate effectively.

10. There’s another book in the series!

via Librarymice.com
via Librarymice.com

Philip Pullman is currently writing the next book in the series called The Book of Dust. It will feature Lyra as the protagonist and could be released as early as next year.



Steph Cosway
Journalism graduate and 100% geek. I have worked in writing for the last 7 years as well as dabbling in a science laboratory. So if I ever stop writing, it's because I've been in a lab experiment and turned into a super villain. I'm particularly interested in video games, comics and Harry Potter. Oh and I have lots and lots of cats.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

11,232FansLike
565FollowersFollow
750FollowersFollow

PEOPLE READING NOW

Boris Johnson is Addicted To Something – You Won’t Believe What it is…

Earlier on this year during a visit to Japan, Boris Johnson decided to take part in a touch rugby game with various Japanese children....

15 Awesome Free Things To Do In 2016 – #11 is so Exciting!

Frugal living is quickly becoming a popular trend, which is great as we are learning to save money and entertain ourselves for less. However,...

The iPhone Photography Awards Prove You Don’t Need An Expensive Camera For Incredible Pictures

From epic landscapes to cute animals, many of the entries were pretty breathtaking. It's undeniable that the iPhone photography awards prove you don't need an expensive camera for incredible pictures.

Pumpkin Power! 12 Things To Do With All That Leftover Pumpkin This Month

October means one thing - it's nearly Halloween. Which means we're all going to be left with a lot of excess pumpkin at the...

10 Most Portrayed Characters in TV & Film

Back in 2013, Erik Lindegaard discovered the most filmed characters ever by collecting data from IMDb. Here are the results....